Web Software Architecture and Engineering – Life on the Bleeding Edge

I was just informed I didn’t make it to the group this year. As you know, its been renamed as the Adobe Community Professionals.
The group is limited to 30 professionals every year, and I believe Adobe wanted to bring fresh faces to the group. As you know, I’m an oldie.
Its OK. I’ll live. And continue to give back to the community as best I can.
Over the past year, I’ve had increasing management responsibilities. I’m currently the Director of Product Management at a SaaS company whose products suite is built using ColdFusion. This gives me a unique viewpoint on ColdFusion, and I’ll continue to voice that.
Throughout 2009, I’ve been reviewing books before publication (very exciting!), reviewing POSS service offerings, writing more open source code, and beta-testing (pre-release) Adobe software.
Lets see where 2010 takes me!
 

Comments on: "No Longer Adobe Community Expert (ACP) :(" (3)

  1. You mention that using ColdFusion in a SaaS model provides a unique viewpoint. What, in your opinion, has been the biggest challenge, and biggest advantage, of implementing and using ColdFusion in that kind of architecture?

  2. Steven,

    Some of its pretty simple – CF plays well with the SaaS model, it allows us to get to market quickly and be nimble where we need to be. We are able to use best practices to segment code to fit the multi-tenant model.

    The challenge comes in scaling CF – but that is the same in general with JAVA. Programmers need to be sophisticated sysadmins at the same time. A bigger challenge then comes when its hiring time… i only know of a hand full of companies that sell software apps built using the SaaS model using CF.

    There are tradeoffs, but CF overall has treated us well. We may explore new frameworks, work with third-parties to tune the app, and go virtual. Ideally, we’re prime for using the Cloud, unfortunately we deal with government, and they have to allow our IPs specifically on their firewalls, so scaling dynamically doesn’t work for us (for now).

    I’m sure there is more…

  3. Judah McAuley said:

    You don’t think that many CFers are doing SaaS? That would be sad to me. I’ve really taken SOA to heart and do most all of my architecting that way. It has been especially helpful at my current gig where the other programmers are .Net folks. That’s fine, I just delineate responsibilities to different applications and then build data-interchange contracts between them. Lightweight services using REST or plain-old HTTP Get and Post plus JSON and you can quickly get things going. CF is great for it and I hope more people go that direction.

Leave a Reply

