Web Software Architecture and Engineering – Life on the Bleeding Edge

Does anyone have any experience working with NetSuite by using ColdFusion?
I was wondering what sort of stories you can share – the good and the bad.

Comments on: "ColdFusion & NetSuite – Need Help" (1)

  1. For the uninitiated, it can be a bear, but once you have a framework set up to connect to the NetSuite web service, it’s a breeze (or at least I thought it was).

    I did my first CF to NS integration nearly 4 years ago, and it took me a few weeks to figure things out. There wasn’t much in the way of CF resources related to NetSuite. The big gotchas I’ve run into:

    1. Calling cfinvoke, createobject(“webservice”…), or adding the web service through the ColdFusion admin doesn’t seem to work. The wsdl2java process that runs in the background seems to crap out after several minutes before completing. I have an idea that it may be because the NS web service schema is so nested and huge, that it craps out (if I’m blowing smoke, someone correct me). I’ve tried playing with umpteen timeout settings, but have never got it to work that way. The existed in CF 7 and 8, and if I recall correctly, I also tried it in 9 with the same results. I ended up writing a script that runs wsdl2java and creates a jar file using an ant script and dumping the jar into a directory in CF’s java classpath.

    2. If you don’t know much about Java, you’ll do well to learn at least the basics to get it working. I won’t get into the whole nitty gritty of the whys here (check out my blog for a lot of info on CF/NS integration). You will likely become very well acquainted with createobject(“java”, “[full java classpath to netsuite stub class]”). I have found this to be the easiest way to create instances of NS’s complex types.

    Hop on over to my blog. If you have questions, I can try to answer them here, or you’re welcome to email me directly (address is there on the blog).

Leave a Reply

