Web Software Architecture and Engineering – Life on the Bleeding Edge

ColdFusion 9 – 50% OFF

Ok, now that I’ve got your attention, this is how I calculate the savings.
We have dev (besides each developers local environment), staging, and UAT environments for code before they hit production.
Before, we would have to buy CF Entrprise for Dev, Stage, UAT, and our Prod Boxes. But guess what, with ColdFusion 9 has some great EULA changes as highlighted by Terry Ryan.
So besides the fact, that if I had a duplicate of my prod environment for disaster recovery purposes, I could use my prod licenses on those boxes, I can now share my prod licenses with “development, testing, staging” servers.
It 99% clear, and another post by Terry tries to clarify. From what I can tell, I no longer have to buy extra licenses for servers that don’t get much hits.
This is one of those things I brought up during with Adam Lehman a while back, and glad to see it implemented with CF 9. Woo-hoo!

Comments on: "ColdFusion 9 – 50% OFF" (3)

  1. Half off? Perhaps in the U.S.A. in Australia we still get extorted an extra not-an-american tax of over $1000+ since Adobe lock us out of buying from the US store (I haven’t tried yet but I have no reason to suspect they changed their poor policy yet). My company would shell out the $4k AUD which is what the US store AUD equivalent is, but an extra $1000 AUD puts it up over $5000 which is quite an emotional barrier to push through management. If only I could buy from the US store like I used to. 😦

  2. Wow, I didn’t know anyone really bought from the Adobe store. Who would buy Office directly from Microsoft?!

    Our Dell Corporate Account has the lowest prices.

  3. It used to be the same as most cheap stores to buy direct from Macromedia online without the box, but after being blocked from paying in USD it isn’t any more.

    I don’t know much about purchasing software I use open source for everything except Adobe products so no I have never paid for Office from Micro$oft 😉

Leave a Reply

