Web Software Architecture and Engineering – Life on the Bleeding Edge

MySQL vs PostgreSQL

I’m often looking for a good alternative to MS SQL Server. I’ve used my different database system, but never MySQL and PostgreSQL. Recently, I started looking for some more up to date information, especially with the recent turmoil surrounding MySQL (first being bought by SUN, then the turnover, then SUN being possibly bought by IBM), who knows what the future holds for MySQL. 
Anyways, so I found two good articles worth reading. Enjoy!

The field is definitely getting more crowded, I’d be interested in hearing more about Apache Derby and others.

Comments on: "MySQL vs PostgreSQL" (4)

  1. Jeff Self said:

    Its not even close. If you value your data, choose PostgreSQL. If you just want quick development, look at SQLite.

  2. I’m a fan of PostgreSQL. Years ago I needed to replace MSSQL and still had to have certain features such as transactions with rollbacks, stored procedures, triggers and referential integrity. At the time MySQL could do NONE of those. Today MySQL is capable of some of these features but not all. PostgreSQL is still far more featured and stable so I use it exclusivly for my stuff. I’ve never had performance issues with PostgeSQL once I tuned the server.

    Thanks for the links to those articles. I found them very interesting.

  3. I know this post is old, but it is the #1 Google result for “Mysql vs Postgresql 2009” so I think a comment is deserved. I used to be a “Postgres All The Way” kind of guy. But, now I choose MySQL first…then Postgres if needed.

    First, I like the MySQL command line tools better. But more importantly, I find MySQL is just plain faster for huge tables with few joins and it is usually fast *before optimizing*. That makes it extremely good when rapid development is required. With Postgres, it is slow by default until you spend lots of time doing things like selecting only the best indexes, scheduling vacuum analyze, casting things properly, etc. That being said, in some applications with complex joins, I’ve found Postgres to be faster.

    I’ve never had any issues with data integrity on either database, so my decision is mostly easey-of-use and speed. But, both are great databases–much better than MS SQL Server.

  4. what about firebird 2.5?

Leave a Reply

