Web Software Architecture and Engineering – Life on the Bleeding Edge

Here is another doc from 2005, which gives a good perspective to the OO fervor.
View @ http://www.stsc.hill.af.mil/crosstalk/2005/02/0502Hantos.html.

Comments on: "Inherent Risks in Object-Oriented Development" (6)

  1. Meh. I mean, the author of said article LOOKS like a procedural programmer. Nuff said.

  2. You are joking – right? OO Fervor? I was presenting at a Domain Driven Design meeting the other day. When I mentioned that some devs are still debating whether OO is the way to go, they genuinely thought I was joking . . .

    No, you don’t need to take an OO approach to every app. Sometimes a “Smart UI” antipattern is a great way to hack an app, and you can write maintainable apps without using OO.

    Heck, I can get anywhere in a 50’s chevvy pickup, but that doesn’t mean we need to have a debate about the whole fervor over driving cars that are less than 50 years old 🙂

  3. Peter,

    Yeah, I’m joking. Chill! 😀

    But yeah, I also want people to know it not a panacea. It has its strengths and weaknesses, and one must read up on both.

    My formal training started with SmallTalk, so trust me, I know OO rocks.

  4. For a minute I was questioning whose blog it was . . . I was pretty sure it was yours and it didn’t sound like your schtick!

    But you are right, it isn’t a pancea.

    Smalltalk. Hmm, had a chance to play with Seaside? I hear it’s kinda fun – a continuation based web framework . . .

  5. Peter,
    Seaside? Never heard of it. Where can I find out more?

  6. http://www.seaside.st/

    You should also keep an eye out on James Ronertsons blog. He’s the marketing manager for Cincom Smalltalk. I met him at the BCS SPA conference last year. Very nice and smart guy. I know he pitches Seaside quite a bit (even though he’s not on the dev team).

    http://www.cincomsmalltalk.com/blog/blogView

Leave a Reply

