Web Software Architecture and Engineering – Life on the Bleeding Edge

3 Strikes Against Gmail

How many of you are tired of Gmail. Well, lately its been a pain.

  1. Privacy Issues – The blogosphere has been abuzz more and more about how Google uses your Inbox, Spam, and Deleted Folder to learn about you. Not good.
  2. Outages – Gmail was out yesterday for several hours. People were mad as hell. Some people liked it. But its become more and more unreliable, which leads me to my next point.
  3. Errors – How many of you see this daily on the top of your Gmail window? Its SOOOOO annoying. Basically, it means whatever action I performed didn’t hit the server, and now its queued. And if I close Gmail, all the items I read, deleted, moved, show up again. Its like Gmail is offline. Gmail

I’ve never been a fan of Gmail, but now I’m thinking I’m ready to move. I already use Yahoo, but is there anything better. And the answer is yes.
Have you heard of GMX (http://mail-us.gmx.com/) or Zenbe (http://www.zenbe.com). Both of these guys can consolidate your Hotmail, Gmail, and Yahoo Mail in one inbox, with a better interface to boot.
I’ll try and post reviews. More WebMail clients can be found @ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_webmail_providers.

Comments on: "3 Strikes Against Gmail" (6)

  1. Wow – I’ve had a few probs now and then but nothing like you blogged. GMail has been a lifesaver for me. However, you pointed to some nice alternatives that I will have to check out. Thanks!

  2. I use GMail daily but also haven’t noticed outages or errors. Thanks for mentioning alternatives, you can never have too many email accounts! 🙂

  3. Same here, I haven’t had the problems you experienced. But other providers are sure worth checking out, thanks 🙂

  4. Glad you guys like the other providers. Please let me know what you find too. GMX looks pretty decent to me.

  5. A couple of weeks ago I´ve read a blog where a guy´s domain was hijacked because his Gmail-account was corrupted! I´ll have to look after the link to this post, than I´ll add it here, but the story was just scarry!! So I disadvice you from Gmail, gmx is a really good deal!

  6. doesnt work, you have to pay for a yahoo plus account.

Leave a Reply

