Web Software Architecture and Engineering – Life on the Bleeding Edge

I agree wholeheartedly with what’s said in this article. Hotels, especially 4-star and above get away with highway robbery when they charge $30 per night for Internet Access.
Read more @ http://www.informationweek.com/blog/main/archives/2008/07/fighting_back_a.html?print=true.

Comments on: "Fighting Back Against Hotel Internet Access Fees" (3)

  1. $30 a night, ewww… I’m travelling around Europe at the moment and every hostel I have stayed at has free WiFi access, and the rooms are like $30 a night or less – go figure 😛

  2. Justin,

    Where in Europe? My experience with London has been outrageous prices – $15 pounds ($30 USD).

  3. When I was in the UK for Scotch on the Rocks I stayed at a place in Edinburgh that didn’t have any internet access (poor me!), so I just bought a pre-paid T-Mobile SIM card for 5 pounds and put 10 pounds of credit on it (so a total 15 pounds) and used the Web’n’Walk 5 day pass for 2.50 pounds, but that let me connect my mobile phone to my Notebook and I had internet access for the whole week (actually the whole 2 weeks I was in the UK). I definitely wouldn’t pay 15 pounds a night, argh!

    After that I was in London for a week and stayed in a B&B (Balham Lodge) that had free WiFi.

    In Italy I didn’t have any internet access in Venice or Rome, but everywhere else I’ve stayed in Italy, Germany and the Czech Republic has had free WiFi so far; Verona, Florence, Pisa, Naples, Berlin, Dresden and Prague (where I’m writing this now)… and the trip continues 🙂

    I think hostels realise how important internet access is to travellers to stay connected with friends and family, and so free WiFi has to be on offer or they lose customers… But it’s the big hotels that can still charge whatever they like because they’re all about location, and they figure that if you can afford to stay there then you can afford to pay more for things like internet access.

Leave a Reply

